

Council Assembly (Extraordinary Meeting)

MINUTES of the Council Assembly (Extraordinary Meeting) held on Wednesday 28 March 2012 at 10.35pm (at the rise of the ordinary meeting of Council Assembly), at The Charter School, Red Post Hill, London SE24 9JH

PRESENT:

The Worshipful the Mayor for 2011/12, Councillor Lorraine Lauder MBE

Councillor Kevin Ahern
Councillor Anood Al-Samerai
Councillor Peter John
Councillor James Barber
Councillor Paul Kyriacou
Councillor Columba Blanca

Councillor Columba Blango
Councillor Catherine Bowman
Councillor Chris Brown
Councillor Michael Bukela
Councillor Michael Bukela
Councillor Eliza Mann

Councillor Michael Bukola Councillor Eliza Mann
Councillor Denise Capstick Councillor Catherine McDonald
Councillor Sunil Chopra Councillor Tim McNally

Councillor Poddy Clark
Councillor Fiona Colley
Councillor Neil Coyle
Councillor Robin Crookshank Hilton
Councillor Michael Mitchell
Councillor Michael Mitchell

Councillor Rowenna Davis Councillor Abdul Mohamed Councillor Patrick Diamond Councillor Helen Morrissey Councillor Dora Dixon-Fyle Councillor Graham Neale Councillor Nick Dolezal Councillor David Noakes Councillor Toby Eckersley Councillor Paul Noblet Councillor Lewis Robinson Councillor Gavin Edwards Councillor Dan Garfield Councillor Martin Seaton Councillor Mark Gettleson Councillor Rosie Shimell Councillor Norma Gibbes Councillor Andy Simmons

Councillor Norma Gibbes
Councillor Mark Glover
Councillor Stephen Govier
Councillor Renata Hamvas
Councillor Barrie Hargrove
Councillor Helen Hayes
Councillor Andy Simmons
Councillor Michael Situ
Councillor Cleo Soanes
Councillor Nick Stanton
Councillor Geoffrey Thornton
Councillor Mark Williams

Councillor Helen Hayes Councillor Mark Williams
Councillor Claire Hickson Councillor Ian Wingfield
Councillor Jeff Hook

1. PRELIMINARY BUSINESS

1.1 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE MAYOR, MEMBERS OF THE CABINET OR CHIEF EXECUTIVE

There were no announcements.

1.2 NOTIFICATION OF ANY ITEMS OF BUSINESS WHICH THE MAYOR DEEMS URGENT

There were no late items of business.

1.3 DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS

There were no declarations.

1.4 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillors Adele Morris, Wilma Nelson, Althea Smith, Veronica Ward, The Right Revd Emmanuel Oyewole and Lisa Rajan.

2. OTHER REPORTS

3. FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH

(see pages 1 - 6 of the main agenda)

In accordance with council assembly procedure rule 2.11 (2), the report was formally moved by the Mayor and the following points were noted:

- 1. Page 2, paragraph 15 the nominator should read the Secretary of Southwark Civic Association.
- 2. Page 6, paragraph 6 "crest" should read "coat of arms".

The recommendation contained within the report was put to the vote and declared to be <u>carried</u>.

RESOLVED:

That the title Freedom of the Borough be conferred upon the following:

- Lance Corporal Johnson Gideon Beharry
- Stephen Humphrey
- The Rt. Hon. Simon Hughes MP
- The Rt. Hon. Harriet Harman MP
- The Rt. Hon. Tessa Jowell MP
- Sir Michael Caine CBE

Coral Newell.

4. AMENDMENTS

There were no amendments.

In closing the meeting, the Mayor stated that this was the last full evening in which she would preside over council assembly. She stated that she had enjoyed having the honour of serving the borough and the community as Mayor. She had also enjoyed the challenge of chairing council assembly and believed the meeting had successfully addressed the issue of making assembly more relevant and accessible as seen by this meeting at Charter School

Shartor Concor.		
The meeting closed at 10.40)pm.	
CHA	JR:	
DAT	ED:	